Aperture 64

moonrise over hernandez by Ansel Adams

What’s in a name

The inspiration for the blog Aperture64

When thinking about a blog name you try to think of something which, will standout, something which people have not used before. You also think about what you are going to put in your blog and who is going to be reading it.

This blog Aperture64 is in existence for a mixture of reasons; Firstly to showcase my work or thought processes when creating digital art and photography. Secondly to discuss my ideas and the way I see photography, digital art, graphic art etc. And finally also to share with my students in the coming year different approaches outside of what I teach in the classroom. This blog was spurred mainly by the last part.

The name aperture 64 came into my head as I was thinking of what was the thing that got me hooked on photography. There was of course a subject at college, thinking it would be an interesting escapism for the drudgery of the rest of the week. Maybe not to my surprise I found the lessons interesting especially the art history portions. My teacher balanced the critical reading of the image with the cultural and political socioeconomic background. One day most likely a Wednesday afternoon, as that is when my photography teacher would teach us history of photography. The same as theory being on the first lesson on Monday mornings and Friday afternoon was our practical lesson. In this history lesson he was mentioning Ansel Adams who I had heard of before and then he mentioned Group F/64. And something stuck.

Group F/64 was a group of photographers from the San Francisco area who included; Edward Weston, Ansel Adams, Willard Van Dyke, John Paul Edwards, Imogene Cunningham, Consuella  Kanaga and several others.  They came together as a reaction to the pictorial movement in photography in the early 1900’s, with a different aesthetic view on photography.

The name is said to have been the idea of Ansel Adams. F/64 is the smallest aperture setting on a large format camera, giving the best focal depth for an image. This idea of clarity with the focal length and the sharpness of such images using this aperture setting was ingrained in the manifesto of the group. The members of the group found clearness and definition of the photographic image the most important element of photography.

As a student I found this idea of clearness of the image fascinating and made continual attempts to replica it in my work and still now though with a different interpretation of what clearness is.

This blog is to be a place where I will; showcase, discuss and share my thoughts on photography my own work and ideas.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

