The last vestiges of Autumn; Through the leaves.

Well for me winter has come. On Saturday just gone the first day of snow came early and the streets are white (but clean) and the autumn leaves are trying to fight for their dominance in the landscape, during this early transition of the seasons. Normally the first day of snow is not until November sometimes even the beginning of December, this year we have had it at the end of October.

Last week I was walking to my tram stop through a park and the leaves which, the day before had been covering the paths were now swept up into small piles across the park. I wanted to take a picture of these mounds of leaves but in an interesting way. I set the camera to aperture priority mode and set the aperture to f.2. Using the timer function on my camera, I placed my camera randomly in the mounds of leaves and press the trigger and stepped back.

The images were quite interesting with a shallow depth of field bright autumn colours. When editing I wanted to try and replicate the feeling of autumn light. The light in the autumn is for me so full of colour and bright, while at the same time opaque.

To take this feeling and demonstrate it in the pictures I edited them as a HDR using  three exposures +2 — -2. I then duplicated the layer added a huge Gaussian blur. The blur creates a kind of colour gradient. I set this layers blending mode to screen and mask out what I wanted to be the focus of the image.

Here is a video of my workflow that has been edited down but still shows you my main steps.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The pictures for me really capture the feel of autumn even though this was in the last days before our surprise visit from winter; you have the warmth and the brightness of the autumn light in them but at the same time the blurred effect that i feel in the light.

Let me know what you think. Do you like the effect I have used on the images or does it not work. Let me know in the comment section below.

 

 

2 thoughts on “The last vestiges of Autumn; Through the leaves.

  1. The colour and shallow depth of field remind me of how we saw fall as a child with everything close in focus and the rest sort of fading away into the distance – especially the one used as your header, a lovely earthy smell comes right out of that leaf detail…

    • Thanks for the comment.
      I think you are right about the light and DOF. It is possibly my romanticised childhood memory of autumn rather than how i saw the colours that day or even this season.

      Thats one of the things with our memories maybe, we see something and it harkens us back to a time when we were carefree and innocent of the world.

      I am now thinking, is there away i could record smells with my picture.

      I want to keep experimenting with this workflow but with Autumn gone here I may have to wait till i have another good subject.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

