Experimenting with the Pomelo

Be brave enough to try something different and smart enough to know you cant please everybody…

I have a few shots from the Pomelo shoot left but looking at them they are really just different compositions of the same shot. This is cool because I can copy my development settings in Camrea Raw and then tweak the images slightly, but i don’t think the compositions are as strong as the one I posted. Generally when editing, I first edit my favorite shots and then in a tier motion slowly edit others until there is nothing left except my discarded shots.

The shots I have left are not discarded, if I was in the dark room with my contract prints, these would be the frames squared by my yellow pencil. So they are not rubbish, just not the strongest of that set.

So I thought I would play. I know Camera raw can be an interesting place and actually i feel that a lot of people do so much creative editing in Photoshop and Camera Raw is just the area where you convert your Raw files. In fact Camera Raw is your developing tub. This is where you can push your negative, cross process it, leak light into it, under or overdevelop it. Camera Raw is an amazing piece of Photoshop.

I decided to try and make a solarized image with my own twist.

I did all my cropping and detail cleaning (noise reduction ect) before i started. The first thing i did was convert the image to black and white using the HSL panel.

I then  create a solarization curve.

Untitled-1

Once the curve was added, I then added the split toning using a orangish and a blueish purple colour. I thought these two colours would complement each other well while adding depth to the image.

In then made adjustments to the image, some being global and others being localized.

In Photoshop all i did was to sharpen the image and reduce the noise more.

Final Image

Pomelo-solarized-split-toned

I love the image and the way it turned out. Although it sounds easy in the way i have typed out the workflow, the image adjustments were quite difficult because darkness becomes light and light becomes darkness. A lot of changes were experimental, for example the mean of the fruit being positive while everything else being negative took a few times before i realized it had to do with contrast and brightness.

It was really fun experimenting and it has driven me to work more in camera raw before going to Photoshop  I think the reason why people have not embraced Raw as much is because when it came out originally it was a bare bones converter and the changes have been made slowly to the system, so people jump straight to Photoshop.

I would love to know what you think of the image, do you like it or not?
Please be honest as feedback helps me guide my work and somethings don’t work for some people. My wife told me this image was not her cup of tea, which is fine.
As always you can leave comments in the comment box below.

If you wish to get notifications of when i post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@aperture64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below.

If there is anything you would like me to write a post about or any question please head to “What is Aperture64″ and leave a comment there.

7 thoughts on “Experimenting with the Pomelo

  1. I have an idea why your wife doesn’t like it – it has nothing to do with artistic merit, rather it strikes deeper than that to what the image represents: dried up fruit = waste=bad housekeeping! It’s a girl thing…

  2. Hmmm…your wife probably feels the same way I do…artistically you’ve done a great job in the detailing, your capabilities are top notch, which is why I visit…hoping I can learn something from what you do, but it isn’t a photo that would appeal to me otherwise…I wouldn’t want it on my wall… 😉

  3. “To be great is to be misunderstood.” – Emerson

    That’s another favorite of mine. No, you can’t please everyone in photography, but if you are talented, resolute and different you’ve got a chance.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

