The Castle in Oporów

For me the term castle is used very liberally in Poland. Yes they have castles, but they are not all big defensive or military structures as i see a castle in my minds eye. Some of the castles are more like Châteaux ( a stately home). The castle in Oporów is more on the Château side not the defensive. It does have a moat though.

Oporów – a village located in the province of Łódź, mentioned for the first time in the 14th century historical sources, was the seat of the Oporowski family, of the Sulima coat of arms. It obtained city rights before 1424, only to lose them again at the end of the 18th century. The family residence, i.e. both the castle and the church with the Paulite monastery, was built by the archbishop Władysław Oporowski. He was the owner of the Oporów estate from 1425 till 1453. At the beginning of the 17th century, the property was inherited by the Tarnowski family, of the Rola coat of arms. In the 18th century both the land and the castle were the property of the Sołłohub family. In the 19th century Oporów, sold several times, belonged successively to the Korzeniowski, Pociej, Oborski, and Orsetti families, until 1932 when it became the property of the Karski family.

The castle, a small late-Gothic defensive residence, built around 1440, is situated on an island surrounded by a moat. It is one of the very few monuments of this kind preserved in Poland. Its compact layout is concentrated around a quadrangular courtyard: a residential house, two towers (one with the chapel attached), and a defensive wall connecting them make up the premises. Renovated in the 17th, 18th, and 19th century, the castle underwent only some minor changes. They produced the Renaissance beam framed ceiling, the Baroque window openings on the first floor, the gate part, rebuilt in the 18th and 19th century, and the neoclassical stucco work. The so-called “cupboard” building on the courtyard, as well as the neogothic portal at the main entrance and the terrace by the bridge, date back to 1840. The castle is surrounded by a landscape park, founded in the first half of the 19th century.

Due to thorough reconstruction works between 1962 and 1965, some of the 19th century renovations were removed and the original shape of the roofs as well as the gallery of the residential house were restored. The Gothic portals and windows, together with the Renaissance polychrome beams from the mid-17th century, were revealed from behind the plaster.
Since 1949, the castle has been the seat of the museum with its exhibition of manor interiors. The works of art and craft contained therein refer to the traditions of old Polish manor houses. The collection includes exhibits from various epochs, ranging from the 16th century till the beginning of the 20th century – paintings, sculptures and artistic handcrafts. Most of them have been donated or purchased. Very few exhibits are directly connected with the history of the castle. These include the 18th century portraits of the Sołłohub family members, mirrors with jardinieres from the early 19th century, duel pistols from the 18th and 19th century, and faience dishes from Shelton, England, produced at the end of the 19th century.

Sourced from http://www.zamekoporow.pl

Chateu-near-kutno

The image took me quite a while to edit as I was not sure how to I wanted to edit the image. I thought it would be great as a black and white also as a really intense color version.
In the end I went with a straight forward edit just bring out the tones of the image.
I processed the picture as a 3 image HDR , toned in Photoshop. I did have to do a small amount of colour corrections well as manually defringe some areas of the image, mainly in the areas with snow.

Over to you. What is your definition of a castles? Is this a castle in your opinion? and most importantly do you like the image?

If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@aperture64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below.

6 thoughts on “The Castle in Oporów

  1. It dos not fit my definition of a castle! Lovely image though. I like the colour and detail in the brickwork etc. Personally, I would crop a little from the right hand side – up to the raised driveway – the expanse of trees to the right keeps taking my eyes away from the main subject which has to be the building.

    • You could be right about the cropping, I have only just seen it, I think I possibly would remove the pole sticking out of the Moat.

      It is not my definition of a castle either, but their are many castles like this in Poland, as well as the good old ones that look like Restormel Castle near Lostwithiel.

      • I have parked in Restormel Castle car park and walked the few miles to Lanhydrock House and back. I was to mean to pay to enter the castle!

      • I am not sure, but the car park fee could be for parking your car and you can then go into the castle or for a walk. I would have to check to know. My memory of Restormal castle is not great as I have only been there twice even though I lived nearby for 19 years.

  2. I agree on both counts. There is a natural end to the tree line that a crop would help. Not a castle to me. I need something like Caerphilly or Neuschwanstein.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

