PhotoChat Travel

PhotoChat is a weekly conversation between Photography Pro’s and Amateurs that takes place on Thursdays at 1PM EST hosted by Prime Social Marketing. To follow the conversation or take part use #Photochat on Twitter.

This blog post covers my longer answers to the questions that are condensed then put into tweets for the Photochat.

This Weeks Topic Is Picking Travel

Q1: Where’s the coolest place you’ve ever gotten to shoot photos?

storm-over-hadrians-wall

Thunder Storm over Hadrians Wall with the sun breaking in the background.

The coolest place I ever took photos was in Northumberland in England. I lived in England for 24 years before moving to Poland. Most of our travels have been between these two countries as my wife and my families live in both countries. Last time I was in Northumberland I loved photographing the landscape. It is very romantic with its roguishness cutting into flowing fields of green and woodland. There are old stone buildings and walls dividing the land, even more you are there alone. The landscape is similar but not the same in the Yorkshire Dales or the Lake District. Cornwall my mother county is another great place to photograph.

Some people feel that to find a great location you need to travel far sometimes traveling not so far you can see places with new eyes.

Q2: What’s your camera of choice while traveling? Do you prefer large and powerful or compact and discreet, and why?

I think it depends on my destination generally when travelling I take My Cannon G10 it is a compact with DSLR options. The G series is great for travel. I also sometimes take my Maniya 135 film camera nice discrete camera that takes amazing images.

mamiya135-canon-g10

Cameras of choice when traveling, Canon G10 and Mamiya 135

For me traveling usually means a holiday, this is a time when I want to kick back and relax. Of course photography is relaxing but I also want to spend this time with my other half and carrying big gear and spending a lot of time in one location for one image is not fun for my wife. There was a joke with my parents when we went on excursions. My mother would usually ask if the trip was for photography or not.

Q3: What types of photography do you shoot the most while you’re traveling? e.g. Portraiture, landscapes, wildlife, others?

terapin

Terrapin basking in the sun.

Usually when I shot landscape or wildlife, these are my usual subject matter along with still life. The portraits I take are more reportage in the style, capturing the people with the landscape and the way they interact with the world around them.

Warsaw017

Art for sale close to the Old Town Square Warsaw.

Q4: Have you ever encountered trouble when photographing abroad? Explain.

I have personally never come across any problems photographing abroad. I think that any problems that could accrue maybe due to your destinations culture and its relationship with photography and/or a lack of understanding of the language. This can be especially emphasised at historical or religious locations. It is best to study your destination and little about their culture.

Autwitz_Oswiecin012

Visitor looking in from the outside at Auschwitz Poland.

I remember the time I went to Auschwitz.  Auschwitz is an extremely solemn and humbling place. On your visit you can take photographs outside but not inside the building, on the tour this was repeated a few times at the start. At site one, you are taken into the remains of one of the gas chambers and our guide repeated that no photographs were allowed to be taken inside. Yet one man continued to take pictures. To the credit of the others in our group the man was chastised and told to stop (though he didn’t). The rule of no photography inside the buildings was out of respect to those who died in the most barbaric way.

Torun016

Double Exposure of a church in Torun

Churches for me are particularly interesting to photograph, and as a religious location it is a living place of worship. People who come here are not just visiting as a tourist but can also be wishing to pray. At places and times like these I would reframe from flash as it is distracting, try not to stand in the centre of the aisles and reframe from setting up a tripod. In my experience most churches/temples are happy for you to visit and photograph as long as your respect other using the building for worship. If you do disturb worshipers you may have some problems.

Q5: Share your favorite images taken abroad! (Or a gallery/blog/etc)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This is a Gallery of images shot on my Mamiya 135 taken at the Lost Gardens Of Heligan near St. Austell, Cornwall, England. These are technically abroad from where I live but not from where i grew up. Do you think that counts?

I would love to know what your opinions to the questions are. Do you agree or disagree with my answers? Either way you can let me know using the comment box below.

If you liked the post please share with others using your favorite social media site.

If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@aperture64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

