Revisiting Double Exposed Tulip

Tulip-purple-double-exposureTwo weeks ago I created a tulip image as a double exposure. This was something that i wanted to do when I took the pictures. To be honest the first edit didn’t work.

I used my normal recipe for the double exposure. Of course just like food some recipes need to be tweaked depending on what you are adding to the mix, something I learnt with this image and with using gluten free flour in baking.

What I didn’t like about this first shoot was that it plainly looked bad and flat. The merging of two exposures looked too simplistic and basic.

I completely threw my workflow out the window and used select colour range to select shadow areas in the single tulip and used these selections to create a mask on the fields of tulip image.

tulip-double-exposure-bw

I edited the image using topz filters; BW, Denoise, and detail and a curves adjustment layer.

Do you think this is better than the original version? Let me know what you think.

If you liked the post please share with others using your favorite social media site.

If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@aperture64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below.

4 thoughts on “Revisiting Double Exposed Tulip

  1. Wow, that’s wild looking. Definitely better than the original. I’m curious, does the double-exposure give it that outlined-like look? Reminds me of Manet.

    PS – The color version felt like seeing through a kaleidoscope!

    • Double exposures can be outlined depending on the subjects film camera ect. I had one roll of film which I had by accident but through my camera 3 times and got some quite hard outlined images. Though most double exposures have quite a dreamy company.

      Yeah the colour image was not great, I have been wanting to create a kaleidoscope image for ages, you have just inspired me

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

