Pleading Eyes

There are a few occasions when I take a picture and afterwards think, if I have done the morally right thing.
This was one of these images. I was walking through a shopping arcade when I saw this man begging. I stopped behind a pillar made some quick adjustments to my camera. Upping the ISO because it was quite dark there, making some to my shutter speed and setting the camera to Shutter Priority, then guessing the distance and how long my focal length needs to be. I turned around walked a few paces back and took my shots. Leaving the area and moving on I then questioned about whether I should have done something more.

begger-torun

If you liked the post please share with others using your favorite social media site.

If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@aperture64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below.

4 thoughts on “Pleading Eyes

  1. It’s a strong image. Should you have done more? It’s an unanswerable question. Maybe he will be there again. Who is deserving, who isn’t? Sometimes I give, often I don’t. He has piercing eyes and you caught them well.

    • It can be hard to tell from just looking at who is deserving and who isn’t. His eyes are amazing and it was this that really got me thinking about if I should have done something else. I hope he is there again so I can make it up to him.

      Thanks for taking the time to comment.

  2. We should always try to do more – I always tell people that if they don’t like to give cash, buy the guy a cup of coffee, something to eat – it’s not that hard to tell whether people are really in need or whether they are career beggars. You can always pay it forward to someone else…

    • Paying it forward is a good idea and a way to find those who want your help. I need just to try and do more in the future like as you say we all need to do.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

