Aperture Speaks; Creative Gradients

Frozen-Easter

This weeks Aperture Speaks revisits the image above, that I edited earlier in the year black and white. This week I will show who you can use gradient adjustments in Adobe Camera Raw creatively to enhance your image. Are you interested watch the video below.

In adobe photoshop I dodged the tree as I said I was going to do in the video using a layer filled with 50% grey and then added a gradient map set to over lay to add contrast to the foreground.

Frozen-Easter-colour

I really love the use of gradients and the way they can help transform quite a flat image into a much more intriguing picture.

Lone-flower-gradient-vignette

These are some over examples of the creative use of gradients. With the Lone flower image above, I used four gradients to create a custom vignette darkening as well ass adding a different tone of green. When using a gradient as a vignette you have more control over the direction and the strength of the vignette with one sides strength being weaker or stronger depending on the image.
Cross-processed-with-gradient

With the second image is created a split cross processing effect. I toned the whole image with a cross processing effect and then added a gradient on the left, shifting the colours.

If you have any comments I welcome them in the comments box below.

If you liked the post please share with others using your favorite social media site.

If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@aperture64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

