Light Shining Through The Gorge

There were so many issues to overcome to enable me to create this image. First was the location, the gorge is in the middle of a popular hiking trail making taking a shot quite problematic, as you need to get the shot while people are not traipsing through. Secondly was the light, by the time I got there the sun was quite high and was back lighting the scene. Lastly when it comes to shooting, even at 18mm I was still not wide enough to capture the scene in one frame. At this stage I would normally suggest taking a step back but in doing so would mean the sun would shift blowing out the whole scene. I went for a different approach and decided to create a panorama. I took the light reading for the gorge allowing the sky to be blown out while shooting 2 stops +/-.

Tatra-Gorge-BW

I first created a panorama of the best set of exposures and then duplicated the files twice  in Camera Raw upping one file’s exposure to +2 and dropping the other’s to -2. I took all three exposures and using Photomatix merged the files into a HDR (this isn’t a true HDR but it is a work around when dealing with this situation). This brought back some of the detail in the sky and the gorge. In Photoshop I used Silver Efex to create the black and white toning. I didn’t like the suns bright spot so I created the rays of light as an added effect.

If you liked the post please share with others using your favorite social media site.

If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@aperture64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below.

7 thoughts on “Light Shining Through The Gorge

  1. Interesting dilemmas here. When I was trying my waterfall shots yesterday I wanted to shoot vertically but the sky would have blown even at 6.30am – I really must start to try the merged images technique.

    • It is a good workaround if you don’t have a ND gradient filter on you because that is what you really need in such situations. In merging photos together like i did, does add some noise to the image which is one of the negatives of this workflow.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

