“Flat Pack Ben”

I have mentioned before that it is quite hard to get presents to my relatives in England, esp. when it is their birthdays. In the past I have created pictures or cards that can be emailed and then can be printed and framed.

For my dad’s birthday I was at a loose end, what could I do for him?
Well taking some inspiration from readymech flat pack toys (Readymechs are free, flat pack toys for you to print and build. They are designed to fit on an 8.5″x11″ page and printed with any printer. You’ll need double-sided tape, thick matte paper, and 10-15 minutes for build time.), I designed a Flat Pack Ben.

flat pack ben

I created the design in Illustrator so that I was able to resize shapes and move elements of the design around. I only designed the face and one side of the head and then duplicated elements. I started with a simple sketch and box design.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The final product made by my father on the morning of his birthday.

I think the idea is really neat and now I have a base design, I might make some more.

As always let me know what you think.

If you liked the post please share with others using your favourite social media site.

If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@aperture64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below.

2 thoughts on ““Flat Pack Ben”

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

