Aperture Speaks; Black & White Images in lightroom

Black and white photography is really where I feel at home at the moment. In photoshop there are so many different ways to convert images to black and white, yet in Light room there is really only one. This week on Aperture Speaks and I am sharing how i convert my images to black and white in lightroom. Want to know more? Watch the Vblog below.

In the Vblog above I created the images below.

Wroclaw street black and white

The above image is a HDR image converted to black and white. In the above image I lowered the blue value to darken the sky while adding extra contrast with localized adjustment. I used a cool blue toning which really adds depth to the image.

Over grown window

This image is a lot softer demonstrating basic adjustments adding a soft vignette and light sepia toning.

Let me know what you think? How do you convert images to black and white and what programs do you use?

If you liked the post please share with others using your favourite social media site.

If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@aperture64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below.

4 thoughts on “Aperture Speaks; Black & White Images in lightroom

  1. very interesting..I too find I’m drawn to b & white! While the building is stunning architecturally, I think I prefer the softness of the last photo…I’m still using Photoscape…been meaning to take a look at Lightroom, but I’ve not gotten around to it yet.

    • Thanks for taking the time to comment. Black and white is a beautiful medium to capture the world. Lightroom I think would be good for you coming form Photoscape as it maybe easier to understand and pick up than the likes of Photoshop.

      • I actually took a few minutes to check Lightroom out…price is descent…much less expensive that Photoshop…I’ve had a few blogging friends tell me they think I would like Lightroom. I think Photoshop would be far too much for me to try to figure out right now, don’t have the time, which is why I love Photoscape…

      • You can download Light room for a 30 day trial at anytime, see if it works for you. Photoshop is a lot to learn I have been using it for 9 years and I am still learning.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

