High Key

High Key Tulip mk2

I didn’t believe this image was going to work, out of all the ones I shot I thought it was the worst, in fact it ended up being the best. The image has a very soft focus and in a way this was one of things I had to work around.
To make the image work I looked at the histogram and saw that it was balanced heavily towards the highlights, even though the image  didn’t seem over exposed, I decided to tone the image with a high key curve,  high contrast and low clarity adjustments. I then needed to protect the main focus of the image from becoming too soft (the centre of the image) and used an adjustment brush to bring back the details. The saturation was too strong with the contrast so I upped the vibrance and lowered the saturation to  allow the strong colours to standout even though they are slightly muted.

If you enjoyed the post please remember to like and share.

If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@apertureF64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below.
All images are the Copyright of Benjamin Rowe , ALL RIGHTS Reserved unless credited to another photographer.
For more information please read my Copyright Statement

7 thoughts on “High Key

    • Those marks are part of the flower, I’ve forgotten the botanical name but where the pollen is. I wouldn’t want to clone them out because of this. I dont think they are too distracting as the centre is the focal point of the image.
      Is it something you find distracting yourself?
      Thanks for your comment

      • Just my ignorance, Ben. If they are part of the flower I would leave them – anthers? Stamens? Initially yes they draw the eye but if they are natural then they should stay. The soft focus makes it a touch trickier to see that they are structural.

      • I think they are Stamens but I wouldn’t quote me on that. I think I could raise the over all clarity to make it slightly easier to see the definition in the structure. Your right, there does need something to help the eye.

  1. nicely done…but then you know what you are doing…if I had taken the photo I would have deleted it as I don’t know enough about how to enhance it! thanks for the description of what you did.

    • I never delete any photos and store all images i shoot including duds because in the future you never know what you might learn to make images work. Seeing the potential is something I have founds comes with time and just playing with images.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

