Water Droplet Experiment

When I have been browsing through images I have always loved close up images with water droplets. Some of the most inspiring ones, the water even magnifies another subject in the background. I wanted to experiment creating this type of image. Since the dandelions have come out in force closing from the yellow petals and opening again as white spores ready to lift off with a slight breeze. I picked a few ripe weeds and brought them inside so I could photograph them in a controlled environment.

I had a few ideas on how to add water to the dandelion, use an eye dropper to place droplets where I wanted them, another was to flick water at the weed and then there was the direction I went. I decided to fill an old window cleaning spray bottle with water and in the kitchen spray the water over the dandelions to have a sprinkling of water landing on them. The first attempts were pretty crude and it took a while to get it right. The first pictures I took were of whole heads, after this I started blowing away some spores and then spraying them with water to get a more action and less uniformity in the shots.

These images have worked well as a first step in a learning process. One of things I learnt is I need the droplets not to dry out as fast as they did. The answer I found is to add sugar to the water.
My next step I feel is to take a spray out into the great wide world and do this again in a less controlled environment.

Have you ever tried to photograph water droplets? Is there anything you like or dislike about these images? Let me know in the comment box below.

Remember if you liked this post to; like, share and subscribe.

If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@apertureF64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below. All images are the Copyright of Benjamin Rowe , ALL RIGHTS Reserved unless credited to another photographer. For more information please read my Copyright Statement

13 thoughts on “Water Droplet Experiment

  1. Interesting idea. The first and last succeed best for me. Adding sugar is a useful tip. I think some people use sprays in the field to add the ‘wet look’.

    • I have decided on my glasses cleaning solution bottle to be my spary of choice, it’s light and compact. Sugar water is also good for catching macro shots of insects. Place a drop in front of them, wait for them to feed and snap away while they are peacefully eating. Thanks for commenting Andrew.

    • All of them are single captures. I was using a tripod and cable release and live view so the mirror was locked up and I was using flash, all adding to the reduction of camera shake. I haven’t tried the sugar water yet, but will be doing using it this week.

      • So, live view shooting means ‘mirror lock up’ is turned on? Whenever I used tripod (live view), I noticed that my tripod moved a little after each shoot, even though I had made sure that the tripod & legs were stable. Usually, by the end of 2 or 3 shots, I would have to readjust the legs because the framing had shifted. I wonder if it’s my tripod that’s simply not stable enough.

      • I live view the mirror is locked up and the curtain is open for light to reach the sensor to enable you to see the image. I use live view a lot with macro as you can magnify an area of the image to make sure that it is sharp. If you aren’t using a cable release it could be just by pressing the shutter you could be moving the tripod slightly. I hang my camerabag on my tripod to add a little weight and to make it sturdier.

      • So, my tripod moved from me pressing the shutter. So far, I’ve only shot macro (not as close up as I’d like, though) handheld when outdoors because it’s just more practical. Thanks for explaining.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

