Indecision; Colour or Black and White

Generally I know before I start editing if a shot is going to be black and white  or colour, although if I am having a moment of indecision I will process an image both ways.

This particular image has a shallow depth of field, much the stem of the  dried plant is lost fading into the background. I focused on the middle of the flower so the front would be intentionally out of focus and photographed it at a downward angle.

 

ISO 100 50mm f/2.8 1/5

ISO 100 50mm f/2.8 1/5

I like the colours in this edit, it is soft yet quite saturated in places and shows some detail but I feel as if there is something missing and it is not quite complete.

ISO 100 50mm f/2.8 1/5

ISO 100 50mm f/2.8 1/5

The black and white version is harder with more details and  prefer it yet I also like the colour.

Over to you which one do you like the best, the colour or the black and white? Let me know in the comment box below or any other comment.

 If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@apertureF64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below. All images are the Copyright of Benjamin Rowe , ALL RIGHTS Reserved unless credited to another photographer. For more information please read my Copyright Statement

25 thoughts on “Indecision; Colour or Black and White

  1. If I hadn’t seen the b/w version, I’d like the colour one just fine. In comparison, though, I like the b/w better. Very much, in fact 🙂

    • Thanks Kiki, I have had the colour one ready to post for a week, but something kept me from doing so then I processed it in black and white. I am leaning towards the black and white version more now.

    • Hm interesting, black and white and abstract do usually go together, it is the perfect combo. Maybe that is why I feel there is something missing from the colour version.

  2. I like the BW image, because you concentrate more on the structure, the effects of the differences in focus when not distracted by colour….interesting image

  3. Hello Ben 🙂
    Nice to meet you today via Leanne. A great introduction to you and your photography.
    Such an interesting image. I like the colour one also.

    • Hi Robyn, I am gkad you liked Leanne’s intro of me. I am very honoured to have been asked to take part.
      I am starting to get the feeling that this image is like Marmite, some like it colour while others like it in black and white and I am still don’t know which one I like.

  4. I like b/w version. The color one – it seems like my eyes fixed in the middle and I have to make an effort to see the rest of the photo. (Not sure how to describe it ;-( But the b/w, I could easily see the whole picture and appreciate it.

      • I think I see more depth to the coloured version. Or maybe it’s just that I love colour. I can’t decide. I’ve only done a few monochrome pictures myself, so I’m no expert. I just keep trying a conversion every now and then. I don’t yet ‘see’ in black and white, but i’m trying!

      • There is a colour and detail depth that is lost I the conversion to black and white so I can understand why you like it.

        Seeing in black and white can be hard to learn. I was first taugjt with black and white film so it became quitw natural but I found it hard when I first started taking colour shots.
        Keep trying with the black and white.

      • Thanks for the encouragement, Ben. Leanne Cole’s monochrome madness challenge has been a great prompt every week nudging me to give it a try. One of these days it will click for me.

  5. To my own surprise I prefer the color version of this. I am a great fan of black and white photography and for many situations and images much prefer the more abstract statements of B&W.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

