Lady Harlequin’s Growing Pains

Last week I found some Harlequin Ladybird Larva and found their spiked form quite interesting. Today while taking a morning stroll something else caught my eye in the bushes, this time it was a strange shape on a leaf. I recognised the spikes holding on to the leaf and with a quick google search on my phone, my thoughts were confirmed, this was the shell of a ladybird pupa. On another leaf close by was a ladybird still in the pupa stage. This stage commonly in Europe happens in August but it seems that our early spring has confused the ladybirds.

Today the light wasn’t that great outside so I brought the pupa and the pupa shell inside. I set up my work area and I used my cats grass as a background for the leaves. I used my Speedlight with my Pringle diffuser to light the subject, with the camera on the tripod. I used live view to focus the shots, as it is bigger screen and I can zoom in to check things are sharp. The pupa which is still hatching has been returned outside in a safe jasmine bush.

Have you found anything interesting while out and about this week. Share a link in the comment box below or if you like just say hi.

If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@apertureF64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below. All images are the Copyright of Benjamin Rowe , ALL RIGHTS Reserved unless credited to another photographer. For more information please read my Copyright Statement

One thought on “Lady Harlequin’s Growing Pains

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

