Before and After Forum; Slicing a Portrait

The Before and After forum is organised by Stacy Fischer, it is a place where amateurs as well as seasoned photographers explain the wow and how about their photo and editing decision.You can read more here about how to take part.

Photoshop is seen as the go to place to manipulate images. There are multiple stories about Photoshop fails, somebody’s image being photoshopped or a photoshopped image being thrown out of a photography competition. With 82% of people using their phone to take pictures (Forbes 2013) really it is the mobile apps that are manipulating the most images.
I take a lot of pictures on my phone and share them on twitter or Instagram, in a way this is a different type of photography than that which I use my DSLR. A more casual form of photography you could say.
I wrote a post earlier this year showing how I edit my pictures on my phone. For today’s before and after forum, I am going to show how I took a regular selfie and transformed it all while commuting on the bus.

Benjamin Rowe Before wk15

I don’t drive, due to this most of my commuting time is spent on buses and trams, probably about an hour a day. To entertain me on my ride the other day I wanted to do some photography. I remembered I had a time lapse app on my phone. The app takes up to 20 pictures at a regular interval that you set. A slice of each picture is then added after being taken. My commute was going to be 40 mins and decided to set the interval at 1 minute, meaning the whole process would take 20 mins. I set up the shot and kept the camera steady.

IMG_20140827_085003

While the app was doing its thing I was thinking about how I would edit the photo. I thought just the time lapse photo wouldn’t be that interesting. A double exposure on the other had would be quite interesting, I have a good app for this as well. At this point I came up with the idea of it being a self-portrait double exposure with a time lapse. Once the time lapse was over I took a quick self-portrait on the bus using the front facing camera, then using the double exposure app merged them together.

IMG_20140827_085153

The output was quite raw and opened it into Niksoft’s Snapseed. I decided to use Snapseed because of the retolux which with the already abstract nature of the time lapse mixed with the double exposure would add to the effect.
The picture was originally shared on Instagram. Once the editing was over I had to prepare a rectangle to go into square hole. This is easier than it may sound. Viewing the landscape image with the phone in the portrait position, I took a screen shot and then open the screen shot in Instagram and crop the image to a square.

Self Portrait on the move. #me #timeslice #selfportrait #Selfie

A post shared by Benjamin Rowe (@aperture64) on

Many people talk about smartphone photography being one click filters to be sent to the ether of the internet. Smartphone photography has become a really experimentation tool of mixing technological applications and processes that can help form a new creative branch of photography.

I would love to hear what you think of the image, you can let me know using the comment box below.

Remember to head over to Stacy’s Blog and check out all the others participating in the forum today.

Remember if you liked this post to; like, share and subscribe.

If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@apertureF64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below. All images are the Copyright of Benjamin Rowe , ALL RIGHTS Reserved unless credited to another photographer. For more information please read my Copyright Statement

4 thoughts on “Before and After Forum; Slicing a Portrait

  1. It is always interesting to try out new things. Lately, I’ve seen so many amazing photos taken with smartphone cameras. Even my “boat” image for this weeks ABF was taken with my old HTC smartphone camera. I suspect the future will bring much more unbelievable gadgets.

  2. Ben, you continue to amaze me, week after week, with your creativity and technical prowess with photoediting tools! I would never have come up with the process you undertook this week – what a great way to pass the time on your commute 🙂 I really do want to begin to understand some of the mobile apps out there, and between you and Loré, I’m quickly building my list. Thanks for sharing this on ABFriday!

    • Thanks Stacy, one of the reasons I really like taking part in the forum is that it gives me a chance to push my creativity. I can’t wait to see what people do this week.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

