Sunday Adventures; Mushroom Picking

Mushroom picking season is upon us in Poland, the wet weather and the warm sun of Autumn are creating the right conditions for mushrooms to flourish in the woods. Every year my wife, my in-laws and the next door neighbor, head to some woods on the hunt for mushrooms. Well they do, I am looking to photograph whatever I can find. This usually translates to bugs, and armed with my extension tubes I get some good shots. Today was all about spiders and their were some gigantic ones. I am not sure where I was, but I felt like I was Mirkwood. I haven’t processed the images from my camera but i did take some with my smartphone.

If you go down to the woods today, you're sure of a big surprise. #wood #forest #tree #autumn #fall

A post shared by Benjamin Rowe (@aperture64) on

The wood we that was our picking ground today was a lot younger than the ones we have been to before. The whole forest was booby trapped with spider webs.

Went mushroom picking and ended up in mirkwood. #macro #spider

A post shared by Benjamin Rowe (@aperture64) on

This is not a macro shot really, as the spiders body was about 5cm long not taking into consideration his legs.

Preparing some of the mushrooms from today's mushroom picking. #mushrooms #poland #sunday

A post shared by Benjamin Rowe (@aperture64) on

We did pick mushrooms as well and they are now being cleaned and dried; ready for soups, sauces and pierogi.

All pictures were taken with a Samsung S3 and edited with either snapseed of Pixlr Express and posted on Instagram.

Remember if you liked this post to; like, share and subscribe.

If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@apertureF64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below. All images are the Copyright of Benjamin Rowe , ALL RIGHTS Reserved unless credited to another photographer. For more information please read my Copyright Statement

 

4 thoughts on “Sunday Adventures; Mushroom Picking

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

