Mini Orb Spider

ISO 800 f/16 1/200 50mm+65mm extension tubes

ISO 800 f/16 1/200 50mm+65mm extension tubes Edited in Lightroom

It was lucky that I saw this spider, I was actually taking some macro shots of small wild flowers and then noticed the spider. Its body was about 2mm long and even with my standard macro set up this was as close as I could get. With some rough identification of other spiders in the area, I believe this one is of the same family, an Orb Weaver spider. From some googling I understand that ord spiders are a family of arachnids that can have vast differences in size but it is the pattern on the back abdomen that gives them away. They commonly live in Gardens, Fields and Forests weaving a fresh web everyday and ingesting it again in the evening.

ISO 800 f/16 1/200 50mm+65mm extension tubes

ISO 800 f/16 1/200 50mm+65mm extension tubes Edited in Lightroom

The size of the spider amazed me, the photogrpahs all seemed to show him floating upside down as the web was so fine I focused straight through it. For the second set of attempts I placed one of the stems of the small wild flowers in the background to help with the composition and help with giving context to its size.

Remember if you liked this post to; like, share and subscribe.

If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@apertureF64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below. All images are the Copyright of Benjamin Rowe , ALL RIGHTS Reserved unless credited to another photographer. For more information please read my Copyright Statement

 

2 thoughts on “Mini Orb Spider

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

