Photoshop Sunday; X-ray Double Exposed

Halloween is fast approaching and the internet is starting to fill up with Photoshop horror tutorials, so why not throw my work onto the pile. This week I was inspired by a video tutorial on Phlearns youtube channel adding x-rays over the portait. I really liked the idea and decided to create an image of my own using an x ray. In the video they used a side profile back light portrait, I don’t have a portait like this and decided to use one of my self portrait images. Finding a good x-ray of a skull was a little difficult, many of them were 3d images and I wanted something more authentic. In the end I found one on wiki commons with the license to adapt and share the image.

Double exposure X ray Self portait

I converted the skull image to black and white, I placed my portrait on a layer above and blended the images together using the overlay blending mode. I used a split toning to create the blue shadows and yellowish highlights. The final touch was to add a vintage wet plate texture to give the image some age.

Although the image may not be to everyone’s taste, I think it looks interesting, possibly an image that could inspire a horror story.

Remember if you liked this post to; like, share and subscribe.

If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@apertureF64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below. All images are the Copyright of Benjamin Rowe , ALL RIGHTS Reserved unless credited to another photographer. For more information please read my Copyright Statement

The above image  is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported license.

You are free:

  • to share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work
  • to remix – to adapt the work

Under the following conditions:

  • attribution – You must attribute the work in the manner specified by the author or licensor (but not in any way that suggests that they endorse you or your use of the work).
  • share alike – If you alter, transform, or build upon this work, you may distribute the resulting work only under the same or similar license to this one.

 

X-ray skull attribution © Nevit Dilmen [CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)  via Wikimedia Commons

18 thoughts on “Photoshop Sunday; X-ray Double Exposed

    • It is easy to go super gory with these images because you are creating something unreal, but too much gore for me breaks the barrier of realism. Glad you like the effect.

    • THe best work flow is to follow the license of the image, if you buy the image you are buying a license to use an image but there are many stock images that have a creative commons license.
      My understanding is that if you buy the stock image, once the image has been edited and has been adapted into a new work then this new image is yours, but with creative commons license it completely depends on what that license says.
      Editing workflow is the same as with any image, if I am making a composite then cutting pasting cloning.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

