5 Photographic Things I Am Thankful For

 

  1. Adobe Photography Package
    Photoshop_CC_price
    For many years the only way you could use Photoshop or Lightroom was to shell out a large sum of money nearly every 2-3 years or visit the dark corners of the internet to “borrow it”. Although I was dubious of Adobe’s Creative Cloud idea at first, stepping over to the dark side I bought into it. Although I would love to have all of Adobe’s fantastic programs the photographers package is great value for money. Not only are you offered the power of Photoshop but the organisational and editing capabilities of Lightroom. 
  2. 50mm 1.8

    By TonyTheTiger (Own work) [CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons


    One of the best buys when I had a film camera and now with digital; small, sharp, fast and relatively cheap (photographically speaking). Great prime less not just for everyday use on the street but also on a cropped sensor a beautiful portrait lens. If you add on some extension tubes you have a nice macro lens as well. 
  3. Tripod

    I still have my first tripod, it was a Christmas present 12 years ago. Tripods are indispensable for long exposures as well as for shorter exposures, when using a longer lens. I now own three tripods; one which is tiny, a lighter and shorter one I take hiking and my first tripod which is mainly used for studio work now. 
  4. Cable Release
    Source; Nikon Rumors

    Source; Nikon Rumors

    One of the few really cheap things I have ever bought for my camera and is used so much. With both wired and wireless opportunities it opens many creative doors of photography as well as helping combat blur in longer exposures.

  5. Photo Challenges
    1day12pics-august
    Something I have been trying to take part in more for the last year. In doing so I have met (virtually) many interesting photographers and I have been challenged to push my skills in taking and processing photographs, developing my skills further.

Remember if you liked this post to; like, share and subscribe.

If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@apertureF64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below. All images are the Copyright of Benjamin Rowe , ALL RIGHTS Reserved unless credited to another photographer. For more information please read my Copyright Statement

19 thoughts on “5 Photographic Things I Am Thankful For

  1. I’m with you on the 50mm lens, the tripod and the cable release! Lightroom I am still thinking about, and the challenges are definitely fun! 🙂

  2. Photo equipment is a very personal choice ,and you’ve named all the essential stuff, but I’m really with you on photographic challenges – they improve your photography and they are free!

  3. I’m not keen on the Cloud – maybe because I don’t know enough about it. For example, if you use Lightroom for keywords, catalogues etc. I assume you have to keep forking out every month. If it’s on your hard drive you only really need to upgrade if you think it necessary.
    Probably the biggest reason is that our internet connection is incredibly SSLLLOOOOOWWWW! The idea of working online holds no appeal at all! 😀

    • Your not actually working online, all your files are on your computer with side car files holding keywords ect. When you stop subscribing you still have access to your catalogue, you only cannot edit the pictures but you can export them. The only link to the internet is updates and it has to dial home every 90 days.

      • There you go – how ignorant am I?! Still wary of it though …. I had to update my Mac recently and it took 11 hours!
        At some point it will probably all go over to the cloud and we’ll have no choice anyway 😦

  4. This is a great post Ben 😀
    Sometimes I think we forget to be thankful for things like these.
    I wholeheartedly agree with the last 4, but as yet am not familiar with CC.
    Ive looked into it, but have unreliable and limited internet. What are your thoughts on this? I figured its probably not a good idea in my circumstance.
    I enjoy reading your blog.

    • Hi Robyn, I have found CC great as I have all my settings copied over on two machines, like presets, brushes ect. Although CC is not needed for the program to work it does need to phone home every 90days and apart from the initial download of programs there is no other need for the internet really. Also with downloading if you lose connection you don’t have to start from the beginning and it picks up where it left off which is good for dodgy connections.. Adobe update the programs regularly even if they are minor. I don’t use the Behance service as I really haven’t got my head round it.
      I am glad you find my blog enjoyable.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

