One Four Challenge December; Pt4 Black and White

The One Four Challenge is a weekly challenge where you edit the same image differently each week for one month.
Throughout the month I have been editing this picture with many different HDR processes. Left with the last edit of the challenge I chose not my favourite image but the best process and turn the shot into a black and white image.

Winter Park4To be honest I tested each process with black and white and chose in the end 32bit processing. It lent itself better than the others because it had so much more tonal information I toned the image with a self made Daguerreotype preset and then tweaked the image using elliptical, gradient and selective adjustments.

With all four complete let me know in the comments which is your favourite.

Remember to check out Robyn’s post as she is the creator of the challenge.

Remember if you liked this post to; like, share and subscribe.

If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@apertureF64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below. All images are the Copyright of Benjamin Rowe , ALL RIGHTS Reserved unless credited to another photographer. For more information please read my Copyright Statement

 

22 thoughts on “One Four Challenge December; Pt4 Black and White

    • Hi Andrew this is a great exercise as each time you edit you have to approach the scene from a different point of view.
      There are many people with the soft spot for black and white, possibly that is why i added it to a mix that has been colour for all the other editions.

  1. Beautiful. I have rarely seen a “realistic” BW, if that makes sense. If I was looking through BW glasses at this scene, this is what I would expect to see. It is beautifully done. I am partial to week 2, I love the depth the bits of color offer the image and the color tones are really lovely too. It is my favorite. Great work!

    • Thank you Carrie, BW can be really hard to make feel real even with all the filters.Week two does look good I liked the sharpness but also felt it was muddy but the cold tone does make it nice.
      Thanks for taking the time to comment.

  2. I enjoy them all. They are each so different. I have to agree with Carrie, it is a “realistic” black and white, and I like it. Week 1 makes me feel like I was there. I love the colors of 3, and the moodiness of 2 calls to me as well. If I have to choose, I will pick pick 3, but I am partial to bold colors so I am not sure if I am biased in this vote.

    • Hi, you are right week three has some great warmer colours that shine through the details of the trees. The black and white I think may give people some problems as I know many are attracted to it.
      Thanks for commenting.

  3. Nice work Ben, its not easy trying to create four different looks. I like your week 2 the best, the coldness of the sky and the brightness of the green foreground perfectly compliment each other.

  4. Hello Ben 😃
    Such wonderful variety created by you for this month.
    Really like them all, but The BW draws my eye and wins my vote.
    Great work Ben and a Happy New Year to you and yours!! 😃🎉

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

