One Four Challenge; Yellow Flower Mixed Media

The final week of the One Four Challenge for February is here. The One Four Challenge is where you take one picture and edit it in four different ways through the month. This month I have been editing a picture of a yellow flower and resiting the square crop.

Yellow Flowerabstract paint effect

Normally I would tell you how I created this picture and I would if I could but I have no idea how I did this. I know that it is a format, this is because I isolated the flower and moved it to a new canvas.  I was really in the zone when editing; I literally just flipping, inverting, adding textures and playing with blending modes. The final outcome is above.

Let me know in the comments what you think of the image and which one is your favourite for the month or anything else you have on your mind.

Remember to check out Robyn’s post as she is the creator of the challenge.

Remember if you liked this post to; like, share and subscribe.

If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@apertureF64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below. All images are the Copyright of Benjamin Rowe , ALL RIGHTS Reserved unless credited to another photographer. For more information please read my Copyright Statement

41 thoughts on “One Four Challenge; Yellow Flower Mixed Media

    • It is a mich more “artistic” image to the rest that could be said are more “photographic” in medium. I used a mixture of paper and film textures as well as water colour stroke textures.
      I can understand as an artist why this edit woild appeal to you.

  1. This is awesome and my absolute favourite for this month. You were in the zone Ben. Fantastic!!
    I agree with Laura – makes me want to get out my paints and create!
    Wonderful textures, colours and more 😃

  2. Hands down…week 4!! I really like the artistic feel of the textures and colors. If I was a painter you would have inspired me to drag out my paint and paintbrushes.

  3. I think that when we are really inspired, we just do. We get into this zone and let our minds wander and our hands just go and create. And maybe when our mind is free to just play and create, there is no room for remembering the creation process? Either way, what you created is “art” and I love it! Great job.

  4. Really nice transformation here. I like how you did something totally different and changed the nature of the flower completely. There’s a lot of emotion in this edit – at least for me – and the obvious remark is that it’s very artistic. There’s a lot to look at here and dare I say it would make for a great cover and/or t-shirt (hopefully no offense taken in the latter, some people take so, but none is meant).

    I love flowers in their natural beauty but I think this one is my favorite for this month. I appreciate that you maintained parts of its natural beauty at the same time that you gave it a sort of roughness, or edge. Really nice job. 🙂

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

