One Four Challenge Ultimate Edit; Wild Flower

Robyn over at captivate me has come up with a cool challenge to edit a picture 4 ways called, One Four Challenge. The idea is that you choose one picture for the month, each week edit the shot differently and share it. At the end of the month you will have four different images. You can read more about the challenge here.

With the One Four Challenge taking a break throughout April. I thought it would be a good to look back and create an Ultimate Edit each week in April of my One Four Challenge images. In January I was hoping for spring and took a picture that I had taken in autumn of a wild flower. I did go a little crazy in the second week of January when I tried a digital solarisation technique. A lot of people like the sharp version of the picture and also the colours of week 4’s  image. I decided to play with these colours a little bit to create a picture that will pop.

Wild Flower Macro-Edit5

Week four had some nice warm tones for my ultimate edit I wanted to go back to colours more like they were in the original image.
I worked in Photoshop by duplicating my background layer and setting the duplication’s blending to softlight. I then created a copy of these two layers, duplicated them into a new document and then deleted my copies.
In the new doc I changed the blending mode to Lab. In Lab mode channels look a little different and I applied auto levels to channels a and b. I converted the document back to RGB and copied the top layer back to the original document.
Back in the original document I added a hue and saturation layer clipped to my Lab pasted layer and adjusted the hue. I added some curves and masked out the petals to create a vignette.

I really like the colours the cyanish greens contrast well against the magenta pink in the flower with the white petals working as palette cleanser.

Click on the thumbnails to see the pictures in a higher resolution.

Let me know in the comments what you think of this ultimate edit.

Remember if you liked this post to; like, share and subscribe.

If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@apertureF64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below. All images are the Copyright of Benjamin Rowe , ALL RIGHTS Reserved unless credited to another photographer. For more information please read my Copyright Statement

6 thoughts on “One Four Challenge Ultimate Edit; Wild Flower

  1. I like the way you describe things – the reds and greens and white. Nice!
    This appeals to me and I think the complimentaries are all working nicely here – Purples and Yellows, Reds and Greens and I like the kind of cross processed feel (my description – not sure if that is accurate). Interesting reading about working with the levels in Lab too.
    I always learn something from you Ben.
    A very nice final edit for Review 🙂

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

