After Before Forum; One Photo Focus Robyn Kent

The After and Before forum is organised by Stacy Fischer, it is a place where amateurs as well as seasoned photographers explain the wow and how about their photo and editing decision.
You can read more here about how to take part.

This week’s “After and Before Forum” is One Photo Focus. Each month one member of the forum is invited to put forward an image for everyone else to edit. This month’s image comes from Robin Kent.

Robin Kent One Photo Focus July

Usually for these posts I write a blow by blow on how I edited the picture. Unfortunately this month things have gone all wrong. I wrote all my notes and did all my screen shots before I packed for my trip to Cornwall; were I am currently for the next week. Of course being a man I left all my notes on my desk and I am sat eating my breakfast trying to piece everything together.

Robin-Kent-One-Photo-Focus-July Benjamin Rowe

I really liked the overall idea of a meteor storm over one of the biggest seats of power in the world, while at the same time it standing bright and untouched by the event. Maybe there is some message in there, but I am still not sure.

The general process of editing; was first creating a cloud and rain texture and then extracting the bottom part of Robin’s picture. I then created the meteors using rock and cloud textures. To colour tone the image I first converted everything to black and white and then created a color balance layer pushing towards reds and yellows. I finished everything off using  grunge brushes. I would say edit time clocked in at about 3 hours.

Let me know your thoughts in the comment box below.

Also please head over to Stacy’s blog to see the other participant’s entries into this weeks forum

Remember if you liked this post to; like, share and subscribe.

If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@apertureF64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below. All images are the Copyright of Benjamin Rowe , ALL RIGHTS Reserved unless credited to another photographer. For more information please read my Copyright Statement

15 thoughts on “After Before Forum; One Photo Focus Robyn Kent

  1. Ha, glad to hear I’m not the only one who “lost” notes – well, at least you wrote yours down, I just never took any 😉 You have a great excuse, though – sounds like a wonderful trip!

    But I’m getting away from the topic at hand – your disaster take on Robin’s image. Too funny that you and Laura and Julz all had the same mindset when creating your images. But since I absolutely LOVE disaster movies (I wonder what that says about me??), I loved seeing this approach! As for what to name a movie with this in it? Well, let’s see, there was “Earthquake” many decades ago, and “Volcano” probably in the last 10 years, so I say “Meteor” 😀

    Enjoy your time away, Ben!

  2. I’m rather fond of apocalyptic and sci-fi movies so I love your edit! It’s nice to know that other people lose their notes too! I hope you are having a good time in Cornwall.

  3. Great concept, Ben! It looks like many of us lost our notes one way or the other. Anyway, I think it’s a really good result, even if the techniques remain a mystery. Thanks for participating and enjoy Cornwall.

  4. I like the meteors and doomsday feel of this edit, it is interesting that you had the Capitol building appear untouched by it, very subliminal. 🙂

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

