One Four Challenge; Tall Ships in Charlestown

The one four challenge is where you take one picture and over a month each week edit the picture in a different way.  At the end of the month you have four different images and four different interpretations of the image. You can read more about the challenge here.

I know what you are thinking, where have you been Ben? and you normally post One Four Challenge on Monday. Well I have been in Cornwall in England for the last week and a bit. My time has been taken up with running around with my camera taking pictures and sharing as much as I can via Instagram. Of course I had my laptop with me but and I did some editing but didn’t get much time for blogging.

After just getting back, I have been reviewing my pictures and noticing the deadline for the first week of One Four Challenge July tick away. This picture grabbed my attention and I thought it had the possibility the an interesting image for the challenge.

Tall Ships in Charlestown

On the first morning away I couldn’t sleep, I can’t say jet lag as the time difference is only one hour, so I jumped out of bed grabbed my camera and headed to a popular photo spot; Charlestown Harbour. If it looks familiar it is because many films and tv shows have been filmed here, including The Three Musketeers, The Eagle Has Landed and BBC’s Poldark to name a few.

With this edit I just made some basic adjustments to the colour and tone, just to balance the image.

Next week’s post will be tomorrow and everything else will be back to its regular schedule.

I would love to know what you think and any comments you or ideas you have.

Also remember to check out Robyn’s post for this week.

Remember if you liked this post to; like, share and subscribe.

If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@apertureF64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below. All images are the Copyright of Benjamin Rowe , ALL RIGHTS Reserved unless credited to another photographer. For more information please read my Copyright Statement

8 thoughts on “One Four Challenge; Tall Ships in Charlestown

  1. I’ve found it very hard to get tall ships so well in focus (they visit Boston quite a bit)–there’s a wonderful crispness to your image lent by the glimpse of foliage at the front. Very nice.

    • Hi Stephanie, I used my nifty 50 at f/5.6 to isolate the ships and give them that crispness. It is like an optical illusion because without the foliage in framing the edges the ships don’t seem as crisp.
      The tall ships are in Charlestown a lot for filming, I also remember sailing schools coming in as a teenager.

  2. I thought I missed you but I also thought it was my fault. Glad you’re back. This image looks like it’s going to be a lot of fun. Having seen your special effects in the past I can see maybe one of these tall ships in flames or some such tragedy.

    • No you didnt miss it, I had internet whenever we got back to my parents house, but never could grab a minute to log on and blog. I suppose I could recreate the scene of the battle of blackwater from game of thrones, lots of green fire.

  3. Love the detail in the ship’s masts and the harbour in the background, but the car and recycling bin distract from the mood. Filtering out the debris of modern life is always a problem for me and I’m not exactly sure what I would do here; possibly crop tighter both left and right, clone out the car and blur the edges? Just a thought…

    • I get what you mean with the car. I actually didn’t see it until editing. The next edit I will do in photoshop, so I can spend some time removing the car and bin. I am not really wanting to crop as the leaves do a nice job framing the image. Thanks for the input and thoughtful comment.

  4. My apologies for my late comment Ben.
    This is a wonderful image and it does have the feel of those shows you mentioned somehow. I hope you had a good trip 😃😃
    I really like the framing of the foliage and Im so interested that it creates the optical illusion.
    Also very much like the tones.. and well, everything!!

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

