One Four Challenge; Tall Ships in Charlestown Monochrome

The one four challenge is where you take one picture and over a month each week edit the picture in a different way.  At the end of the month you have four different images and four different interpretations of the image. You can read more about the challenge here.

I have decided to call week two of the One Four Challenge; Monochrome Edition, as I always end up creating a monochrome image. It took quite a few attempts to get the image looking right and I reset the image a few times while editing. The biggest problem area was darkening the sky while preserving the rigging of the Tall Ships.

Tall Ships in Charlestown Black and White

I stared with a high contrast black and white preset and then reduced the contrast slightly.  I started adding local brush adjustments to darken the sky, bring details out of the water in the harbour. I added a slight split toning to the image hsyt ti give that vintage vibe, but nothing over powering.

I am not sure if I really like this edit, it feels as if it is a bit meh. SO I would really want to know what you guys think, let me know in the comment box below.

Also remember to check out Robyn’s post for this week.

Remember if you liked this post to; like, share and subscribe.

If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@apertureF64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below. All images are the Copyright of Benjamin Rowe , ALL RIGHTS Reserved unless credited to another photographer. For more information please read my Copyright Statement

15 thoughts on “One Four Challenge; Tall Ships in Charlestown Monochrome

  1. I like the black and white feel. I am not sure about your sky and clouds. The image just doesn’t seem to be balanced somehow. I would love to see a sepia tone to it. Just a suggestion.

    • I think If I had brought the clouds down to the horizon it would be better. In fact I did that on an earlier version but it couldn’t get the rigging set right. A stronger sepia could work and I am thinking of something along those lines for the next edition. Thanks for the input.

  2. These wonderful ships appear to have given you quite a challenge this month Ben. This mono in split tones does suit it so well. Could be anywhere, anytime! Somehow the rigging and the sky are drawing my attention in this edition. Perhaps it’s because you mentioned it. Looking forward to what is next now 😃 I like this one very much!

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

