One Four Challenge; Vintage Charlestown

Last week’s edit was real success and I had no idea how I could top it this week. Instead of trying to best last week I went for a cousin image in spirit. I decided to try and create a vintage Polaroid feel. Unlike last week I didn’t remove the car from the background as it was in an area with too many details. When removed the area which was replaced just created a distracting area.

Charlestown tall ships vintage

I created the effect by using the curves to shift the colours slightly and hue and saturation to slightly desaturated the image. I added some strange colour efex using a gradient adjustment layer and a new layer with red painted on to the canvas. I added grain using the grain filter and use a polaroid border to finish the whole effect off.

So which is your favourite? Let me know in the comments below.

Also remember to check out Robyn’s post for this week.

Remember if you liked this post to; like, share and subscribe.

If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@apertureF64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below. All images are the Copyright of Benjamin Rowe , ALL RIGHTS Reserved unless credited to another photographer. For more information please read my Copyright Statement

33 thoughts on “One Four Challenge; Vintage Charlestown

  1. This week’s really does have that old photo coloring and vintage feel to it. The addition is red is very effective – it draws your eye right to it making the bow of that ship an unusually placed focal point, without shooting your eyes off the picture plane. That little dingy on the side of the middle ship invites you to check that one out as well. Kudos!

    • I see what you mean, your eye is drawn to the bottom corner and then up through the ships. I added the red to give the effect of colour distortion that you sometimes see in Polaroid images, It seems that it has worked better than i thought,

  2. I love this last one Ben. It’s my favourite of the series, and a very creative process to achieve the Polaroid feel. Nicely done as always.
    Apologies for my late comment. July and August have been busy.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

