After Before Forum Wk64; Red Red Rose

After Before Forum wk64The After Before Forum is a place where photographers of all levels can show how they get the wow in their photography. It is easy and fun to take part, you can check out how here.

Last week here in Poland was the National Day of Education, colloquially known as Teachers Day. On this day usually lessons are much more relaxed and fun, and teachers receive presents from their students. Presents vary from flowers to chocolate and this year I was even given a coffee cup, to drink coffee from while I feel their minds with the English language. The day overall is really fun and as a teacher is a day when I feel very honoured from all my students’ appreciation.

This week’s picture is of one of the flowers I was given by my students.
I shot this back lit with natural light, popping a flash on my camera to fill in the flower.

wk64-1

First I wanted to brighten the image but only the shadows. I used curves to do this with the targeted adjustment tool as it would be more precise. I also made some adjustments to the colours to make them pop.

wk64-2

There was a slight light leak coming in from the side brightening the rose unevenly. I used a brush adjustment to make the tone of the flower even.

wk64-3

I wanted to bring the colour out more but only in the rose. I did this with a radial adjustment; playing around with the contrast saturation and temperature.

wk64-4

I sharpened the image and then added a radial adjustment around the flower head and reduced the sharpness. I did this to add softness to the background while having the flower sharp.

wk64-5

I didn’t really like the way the brush adjustment from earlier, so I removed it and added a gradient instead.

Red Rose

For me this picture will always be one I like, because of the subject matter. I feel that in my editing I have brought some balance to the image. Personally i like the softness in the background as it creates a really nice contrast to the rose itself.

Week 64 Entries For The After Before Friday Forum

Benjamin Rowe Aperture64

Lore Dombaj Snows Fissures and Fracture

Amy The World is a Book

Michelle Lunato Photography

Please check out the links to the other members posts to see how they make their image pop.

Thanks to all those who took part this week. If you wish to take part in the forum next week check out the forum guide here.

I would love to here what you think and you can let me know in the comment box below.

After-Before-Friday-2015

Remember if you liked this post to; like, share and subscribe.

If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@apertureF64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below. All images are the Copyright of Benjamin Rowe , ALL RIGHTS Reserved unless credited to another photographer. For more information please read my Copyright Statement

 

7 thoughts on “After Before Forum Wk64; Red Red Rose

  1. Ben, you’ve done a superb job with this gorgeous rose! Once again, a helpful tip with using the targeted adjustment tool with the curves adjustment. I didn’t know that existed (although you’ve probably explained it some time along the way). What a lovely day for you. Thanks for sharing it.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

