Harlequin Ladybird Larva

I was walking around looking at flowers and saw quite a strange looking insect on a flower. I snapped on my extension tubes for a closer look. What I saw was a strange bug/insect with spikes on its back, two orange stripes on its black body. I wondered, what is this little fella? A quick search and the answer was obvious. A Harlequin Ladybird Larva, the area was full of Ladybirds this spring and of course they would have little Ladybirds.

All images were shot with my 50mm lens and 60mm extension tubes and processed in Lightroom. He stayed on one flower while I was photographing him as he was  munching on the flower. Lady Bird Larva aren’t as beautiful as their adult versions, although it could be a ugly duckling scenario.

Let me know in the comments which image you think is best or if you like just say hi.

If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@apertureF64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below. All images are the Copyright of Benjamin Rowe , ALL RIGHTS Reserved unless credited to another photographer. For more information please read my Copyright Statement

6 thoughts on “Harlequin Ladybird Larva

    • Hi Helen, I also like the way his body curves in those shots, my personal favourites are 2, 3 and 5. 2 because he is coated in pollen and there is a lot of detail in this head and front legs, 3 because it is low angle frontal shot and 5 because of the detail and sharpness of his body and the context of him in the flower.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

