One Four Challenge; Hanging Blossom Watercolour

The one four challenge is where you take one picture and over a month each week edit the picture in a different way.  At the end of the month you have four different images and four different interpretations of the image. You can read more about the challenge here.

After last weeks obligatory Black and white for the One Four Challenge, I wanted a bit of the change in editing. I decided to go for a sketch and watercolour effect, which I thought this image would lend itself well to.

hanging white blossom water colour

I duplicated the image to create the sketch lines. I used the glowing edges filter, that I then inverted, desaturated and added noise to get texture. I duplicated the image and applied a watercolor filter to the image and then added a mask and used watercolor brushes on the mask to reveal the colour. This also added texture to the image. I finished off by adding an aged textured paper as the background to round the image off.

I would be interested in what you think of the effect, let me know in the comments below.

Also remember to check out Robyn’s post for this week.

Remember if you liked this post to; like, share and subscribe.

If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@apertureF64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below. All images are the Copyright of Benjamin Rowe , ALL RIGHTS Reserved unless credited to another photographer. For more information please read my Copyright Statement

18 thoughts on “One Four Challenge; Hanging Blossom Watercolour

  1. This is fast becoming on of my faves of your One Four series Ben.
    Im so enjoying this light airy image, with its elegant subject.
    This one does give the feel of pencil sketching and watercolour. The Textures are a very pleasing addition. Very nice! 😃

    • Thank you Robyn, it is quite a good image for this challenge as there are a lot of space to move. I am glad you like the textures. I prefer them to the normal weave texture with smudged colour.

  2. Ben, I love it! Beautiful, delicate and very painterly. I was very interested to read of the steps you used to create this, as it is the sort of thing I would like to try myself when life is a bit less of a stress….

  3. Great choice, Ben, for this edit. I love the subtle colors in your final image, so soft and delicate. I like too how you simplified the background (especially the branch in the top part of the image). The only thing that I might have done differently is lightening some of the outlines, which seem awfully black. I personally like something a little grayer, which would be more like a light pencil than ink.

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some

