Has Spring Sprung?

Of course the official beginning of spring is not for a few more weeks, yet nature is starting to sprout the first signs of spring. Snowdrops, as I know them, are called Galanthus; meaning Milk Flower. Although not a spring flower as most flower in winter, seeing these white heads popping up gives you hope that you are coming to the close of winter.

Snowdrops are truly a European flower and can be found natively in France, Germany and Poland and heading south to Italy, Greece, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine and Turkey. The flower has been introduced to many countries including Britain, when it is thought to have been introduced in around the early sixteenth century.

 

Click on the thumbnails to see in higher resolution.

I found these Snowdrop while on a futile hunt for Crocuses that had been rumoured to have flowered. I used a 90mm macro lens to capture the pictures and processed all of them in Lightroom.

I would love to hear what you think and which image is your favourite, let me know in the comment box below.

Remember if you liked this post to; like, share and subscribe.

If you wish to get notifications when I post on my blog, you can follow me on Twitter@apertureF64, on Facebook.com/aperturesixtyfour or alternatively be emailed by subscribing below. All images are the Copyright of Benjamin Rowe , ALL RIGHTS Reserved unless credited to another photographer. For more information please read my Copyright Statement

31 thoughts on “Has Spring Sprung?

  1. Ah, thanks for the hope that spring is getting ready to, well, spring! Lovely photos, Ben. The last one makes me think of a bird – a strange, green-headed bird, but that’s where my mind went 🙂

  2. Lovely pictures, Ben. Good to see signs of spring, very cheerful. I love the “snowdrop rule of thirds”, nice composition, and with the background blurred, looks quite minimalist.

  3. Love your Solitary Snowdrop Ben … not that I wanted to choose a favourite 😉 they are all very appealing shots of this little spring flower !

Let Me Know Your Thoughts, I Know You Have Some